top of page

Mini Review for 10 Things I Can See From Here

Hey everyone, I just wanted post a mini review for 10 Things I Can See From Here. Please click the link for the synopsis of book. Sorry this is more of a rant (I was a little crunched for time) but I still hope you enjoy.

I feel like this book I overhyped in my head. I was really hoping for some good anxiety representation and it just feel really flat for me and was a bit offensive. As someone who deal with anxiety and feels like I am able to be considered own voice reviewer, I kinda felt like the part where the main character, Maeve, uses a paper bag to control her anxiety. This felt a bit offensive to me because of the stereotype regarding people using paper bags to breathe in and out of to help control their breathing and calm down. I am sorry, but as far as I know, no one actually does that outside of TV shows or movies. Another issue I had with

this book was the father being forgiven a little too easily. The father had issues with listening to his daughter, drinking, being a good husband and father, running away from responsibilities, and drugs. There was even a part where he does drugs accidentally in front of his daughter and tries to hide it. I really hated how easily he was forgiven and felt like his family deserved better and him changing at the end or trying to change didn't feel realistic. There were also a part where a former friend almost basically assaults her and the main character debates forgiving her. The only part I really liked in the book was the part where Maeve talked about medication (which I could relate to) and the parts with her and her girlfriend. Maeve and Salix are a really cute couple and I loved reading the scenes with them. Besides that though, I would probably not recommend this book. I will give it three stars for the relationship and some of the anxiety rep being good, but honestly I would not waste your time with this book.

I got this book in exchange for a honest review from Blogging For Books.

3 out of 5 stars.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page