top of page

Cinder Review


Hi everyone, I am back. I apologize for the small hiatus. I have just started the school year so that I have been a bit busy with my school work and other activities. However, I am back and ready to try to continue this blog. Hopefully on a monthly basis, maybe weekly or every two week but I can not make any promises.

The book I just finished was Cinder by Melissa Meyer and I have to say I really enjoyed it. The book is similar to the story of cinderella instead of a human girl who becomes a princess, we have cyborg named Cinder as our protagonist. In Cinder's futuristic world of New Beijing, the earth is plagued with a virus killing people left and right as well as prejudice against cyborgs by certain people. After Cinder is affected on a personal level by the virus she is sent by her step mother to be tested, but once arriving at the facility she soon starts to learn secrets about her past, a plan that will affect the kingdom, and more.

This book was better than I expected. While I was a bit hesitant as I am not usually one to read steampunk/sci-fi/ fairytale genre, I was able to fully grasp the content as well as throughly enjoy the story and characters. The chemistry between Kai and Cinder was amazing and was something I could perfectly visualize. They had a large amount of cute banter with each other I found charming (which makes sense since he is supposed to be the Prince Charming character of the story). The relationship between Cinder and Peony though short was very sweet and one of my favorite parts of the story.

Cinder is a book I feel takes a very unique and interesting twist on a classic tale. What I love about this series is each book focuses on a new fairytale character, but in the same world. The books also remember and feature the character of the previous novels, though they may not be main focus of the book. If I had to say one criticism it would be that I was not exactly happy with the Cinderella story as the basis of this novel, though that opinion has to do more with my personal opinions of the fairytale rather than the book itself. I can not say anything more about this book except, I can not wait to read the next one in the series.

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page